What Lies Beneath – Margaret Hines

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Next up in Vistek’s national Gallery is a series of photos entitled What Lies Beneath — a collection of underwater shots shot by photographer Margaret Hines. You’ll find her story interesting because, for one thing, without any formal training, she literally dove into underwater photography. And with the help of her husband, she turned their backyard pool into a studio.

Meet Margaret Hines

Margaret Hines

What is your background & education?

Accounting & Finance.

Completely self-taught with underwater photography

Margaret Hines

How did you get your start as a photographer?  Did you have a special mentor?

I have always had a camera starting out with my first Kodak Instamatic camera when I was a young teenager.  I really became hooked the day I bought my first Canon Rebel DSLR for my first holiday to Alaska.

Being a member of a professional association such as the Professional Photographers of Canada (PPOC) has definitely helped me to hone my craft through competition and networking with other photographers.

Margaret Hines

What inspires your photography?

I do all my own printing here in-studio with an Epson 7900, ImagePrint RIP software and Moab Slickrock Metallic Pearl Paper for my underwater prints.  It is extremely satisfying to see and hold the culmination of all the planning, shooting and editing that goes into crafting a fine art underwater print.  I fell in love with Slickrock Metallic Pearl Paper in 2013 while taking a fine art printing workshop with John Paul Caponigro at Vistek’s Queen Street location and use it exclusively for all my fine art underwater images.

I have used Image Print RIP software with Epson printers since 2006.  ImagePrint has a printer profile library that is chock full of hundreds of printer profiles for every printer/paper combination you can possibly want.  It is really easy software to use.